Our parameters!

by Adriana

In my last post, I said that I liked this kind of vegetarianism because I could set my own parameters. So what are our parameters? 

Aside from the already stated no meat on Monday through Friday, we are allowing ourselves to eat/drink

  • milk 
  • milk products (cheese, yogurt, etc.)
  • eggs

I think trying to take so much away from the children all at once wouldn’t be a good thing. My children are still very young and need nutrients that these animal products provide, and even though I could probably get them to meet their requirements from non-animal products (enough calcium, protein, vitamins etc.), I think their nightly milk or their yogurt with breakfast would be gravely missed. 

Also, on weekends, we will be eating meat, if we chose to. I predict that we will all choose to, especially in the beginning. But, I don’t want to get to the point where we eat so much meat on Saturday and Sunday that it basically negates the entire week long vegetarianism, so it too will be controlled. And that’s where our borders are… and the rest will be a new journey into cooking for me!

 

 

