Day 4.

by Adriana

Vegetarian Stir-Fry with Tofu

Yesterday I said I was ready to try something new, interesting and fresh for dinner so I decided to make a stir-fry! When we order food out (Chinese, Thai) we always have to order noodles for me and my daughter. We love them. I took some of the vegetables we had in the fridge and julienned them (red peppers, onions, carrots, celery, mushrooms and TOFU!!!). I cooked some Angel-Hair pasta (which was literally cooked in 3 minutes). Fried the vegetables in some vegetable oil (with a smidge of peanut oil) and then added some low-sodium soy sauce, chunky peanut butter, black sesame seeds and the noodles. I let them fry up a little bit, then in the last 2 minutes added some sugar snap peas – the dinner was new, interesting, colourful and delicious. AND, my father, who has been joking around about our weekday vegetarianism ate 3 portions of it. The kids ate the tofu and my father tried it, but I think next time I’ll spend a bit more time marinating the tofu first. Also, I should mention this dinner took me about 15 minutes to make all said and done. That’s my kind of cooking!

Zara's yogurt - as big as her head!

I would also like to tell you that after dinner my mom and I took my daughter to Menchie’s for some frozen yogurt. If you have never gone, GO NOW! It is one of the most fun experiences I have had in a long time. You get an oversized bowl, about 12 frozen yogurt flavours to try, probably 25 toppings (some healthier than others) and then 4 or 5 sauces (!). Once you’ve made your “mix” you go to the cashier, she weighs your concoction and then you dig in! I felt just like my four year old daughter. I had the original tart and peach frozen yogurts with coconut and strawberries (above). My daughter chose chocolate frozen yogurt with sprinkles and chocolate chips. My mom had coffee and pineapple frozen yogurt and then she threw on some banana chips, strawberries and pineapples… to each their own… which is why Menchie’s is AMAZING. Check it out!

She didn’t miss one bit!

