Going green.

by Adriana

20120416-142424.jpg

On Friday we bought a Magic Bullet after years of wanting one. My husband and I have a thing for piña coladas and we always hate restaurant versions because they just don’t taste authentic. Well, we have had our Magic Bullet for three days and have used it twice a day since we’ve had it. None of those drinks have been piña coladas. We have been making green smoothies and they have been amazing. I have been putting whole leaves of kale, collard greens, Swiss chard, spinach and dandelion (not all at once as I learned on my first day of smoothies), frozen berries, Pomegranate/Blueberry juice, water and a little bit of honey together and this countertop appliance whirs it all together as if it’s mashed banana. There is a bit of a learning curve.

My first green smoothie was not successful. It was about 75% green and 25% other things. It was too green. It was bitter and tasted like we were drinking grass. Darius loved it. He takes after my husband and both love bitter things, but my daughter and I just couldn’t do it.

The next day I adjusted my ingredients a bit and put only a few greens in (kale and spinach) with the berries and juice and water and honey and this time, it was delicious. I have stopped giving my children diluted fruit juice in the morning and instead they get water in their sippy cups and their green smoothie to enjoy. And they are, and so am I.

Let’s see what we feel after a month of our smoothies! If you have a blender, give it a whirl!

20120416-142452.jpg

