Stuffed peppers.

by Adriana

Image

Coming up with new things to eat can sometimes be challenging. My kids constantly ask for the same things over and over again, and, frankly, so does my husband. If they like something, they want to eat it, and often.

But I am too interested in searching for recipes and ingredients to constantly make the same things over and over again. Now, sometimes I have to make things that I know the kids will eat without me fighting over every bite. The begging gets tiring. Also, if you’re wondering why I don’t post what we eat every night, it’s because sometimes what we eat is boring, or leftover, or thrown together before gymnastics, etc. I think I would be too embarrassed to post everything we ate! However… last night for dinner, I decided to make stuffed peppers. In our house, we crave a lot of “Tex-Mex” inspired flavours. These peppers satisfy your southwestern taste buds, but also give you a change to a family favourite like tacos or fajitas. You could definitely serve these with tortillas and wrap them up for a delicious meal if the peppers aren’t going over so well! 

I like these peppers because they don’t take that much time to prepare (but you do need to bake them) and they have a lot of flavour. We serve them with a dollop of sour cream (we sometimes use yogurt when we run out of the other) and a big heap of salsa. It’s a delicious vegetarian meal with a complete protein (because of the rice and beans and corn) and it’s a nice change from the same-old, same-old! Enjoy!  

For the recipe, please click here

*I didn’t think of it at the time, but you could definitely add small pieces of chopped tofu to bump up the nutrients in this dish. Also, I took out the poblano peppers because I know my children don’t want to even look at something that’s spicy, but you could adjust the heat in the dish to your liking. 

