Rice, nights 3 and 4.

by Adriana

You’ll be happy to know that we threw the rice away today. It was almost a week old and we had definitely maxed on it – even with some creativity. I made some new recipes which I am SO happy to let you know the children ATE UP!!! Sometimes they surprise you. Take this evening for example, I made a completely vegetarian meal (I know it’s Saturday) and the kids ate and ate and ate. It was so nice.

What did I make? Tonight I made my new favourite rice salad (recipe follows), a goat cheese tart with oven roasted tomatoes, vegetable kabobs, and a green salad. This was Night 4 with the rice. Night 4 was a resounding success. I don’t know what it was, but the kids loved it. Letting this rice salad sit overnight is the key to having your kids eat it or not. Yesterday, they didn’t like it, today, they did.

Rice, Chickpea and Sundried Tomato Salad

When it comes to salads, I don’t follow a recipe, but make it to our taste. Take as much or as little of the ingredients listed above (feel free to add) and mix them together. Make the vinaigrette and pour over salad. Allow to sit for a few hours to meld the flavours and then enjoy… and you will.

  • 1 can of Chick Peas (try to look for brands that do not add preservatives)
  • Leftover rice (as much or as little as you want)
  • Sundried Tomatoes in oil (again without preservatives), about 3, chopped
  • Feta cheese (about 45 grams)
  • Grapes tomatoes, cut in quarters
  • Kalamata Olives, cut in quarters
  • Sweet pepper, finely diced
  • Red Onion, finely chopped
  • Flat-leaf Italian Parsley, chopped 

Vinaigrette

  • 2 tablespoons oil from the sundried tomatoes
  • olive oil, enough to make a nice vinaigrette
  • white balsamic vinegar
  • grated garlic (or crushed)
  • pepper to taste (I don’t use salt because of the feta and olives)
Yum.

This salad not only has a lot of flavour, but the texture is amazing. Chickpeas and rice together make a complete protein, so if you just have a portion of this for lunch, you’ve got a lot of good things in you! And, even a small amount makes you feel full. Let’s go to Rice night 3.

Night 3 was “rice cakes.” I took a bunch of the leftover rice, added an egg, some cut up mozzarella (I left it in big chunks but would probably grate it next time) and then seasoned it with salt and pepper. Then, I heated up some oil in a frying pan (on Medium/Medium-High) and then fried the rice cakes up. The second I put the rice on the hot pan, I feared I should have put flour in the batter to help them stay together, but it was too late and I held true and waited until I saw the sides getting golden. When I flipped them, they didn’t fall apart!!! They were crispy and cheesy and delicious and like I said before, the kids ate them. Of course, my kids and I love dipping savoury fried foods in ketchup so that is a necessity in our house, but they would be good on their own. This is another thing too that I sort of came up with based on our taste. I had made other things that had more flavour and sometimes I think the kids go on flavour-overload, so I try to keep one thing in their meal basic, familiar.

The photos for the rice cakes are not so hot. I was afraid to burn the rice or the cheese so I didn’t let it get too golden (I have a bad habit of getting distracted at a crucial part in frying, so I took them off before they got burnt), but this means the photo is kind of blah. However, I will post the photo of my delicious goat cheese tart which, I have officially decided, I will be making again, and again and again because I love to eat it and so does the rest of my family! I will post the recipe for you tomorrow. Whatever you’re having for dinner tonight, buon appetito! Double yum.

