Happy 1 Month Anniversary!

by Adriana

50% of all illnesses could be delayed or eliminated by dietary changes. 4 of the top 7 causes of death – heart disease, cancer, stroke and diabetes – are related to diet.

Well, we did it! We have been Weekday Vegetarians for 1 month! It has been, in a word, amazing. If you’re still sitting on the fence or completely unconvinced, you’re probably wondering why we think it’s so amazing. It’s for a few reasons:

1. It’s so easy – my initial hesitation to become vegetarian was that I wasn’t sure we would be able to keep track of proteins or vitamins or minerals. I realize that as long as we eat well, and balanced meals, we don’t have to fret about each gram. I also wasn’t sure my kids would eat what I made (we’re still working on that) and I wasn’t sure we could do it. And the food that we make is SO easy and quick to prepare. There’s no cooking for extended periods of time and a healthy dinner can be made in no time at all.

2. Our plates are so colourful. I know this sounds weird, but when we ate meat, I always made sure our plates had salad on them and usually a starch (rice, pasta or potato) but our plates were sort of boring. Now, because we use so many different vegetables and new ingredients, our plates are exciting, colourful and SO appetizing.

3. We’re saving money. We stopped buying about $30-$40 worth of meat a week, which leaves room for me to shop! Just kidding. We also haven’t been buying meat on the weekends because the past few weekends have been a whirlwind. However, we have decided that when we do want meat, we are buying free-range, organic meat.

4. We have more energy. We’re not being weighed-down with digesting heavy meat.

5. Our digestive systems are in ship-shape. I won’t go into too much detail, but I can say that the occasional constipation from my children is GONE! We have never been more regular. Our diet has so much more fibre in it now which is helping everyone in that department!

That’s why we love being vegetarian. Today I went to the library and I got yet another vegetarian cookbook for some meal ideas. The book was filled with all sorts of interesting statistics. Keep in mind these are for Americans; however, I think they provide some worthy insight into the benefits of vegetarianism.

Vegetarian Times Complete Cookbook. By the editors of Vegetarian times. – 2nd ed.

“In a lifetime, according to the authors of The Animal Rights Handbook, the average meat-eating American will consume 1 calf, 3 lambs, 11 cattle, 23 hogs, 45 turkeys, 1097 chickens and 15, 665 chicken eggs.”

And my personal favourite: “Soybeans contain more protein than beef, more calcium than milk, more lecithin than eggs, and more iron than beef.”

So, if you’re still sitting on the fence, what are you waiting for? Give it a try, even if it’s a start with Meatless Mondays.

