Quesadillas!

by Adriana

20120601-143734.jpg

Mexican food, or rather Canadianized Mexican food, is a favourite in our house. At any given time we have 3 or 4 avocados ripening and a bunch of cilantro waiting to be made in to a delicious, refreshing guacamole, black bean salad or simply spread on to a tortilla instead of mayo. We have integrated “taco night” as a staple in our weekly meal plans, but after 4 weeks of tacos, you want a change. So what are your options? Burritos, or fajitas, or quesadillas! Quesadillas are kind of like pizzas with a bottom and top crust. Well, that’s how I sold it to my recently-picky son. Last night I made them with cut up tofu, zucchini, onions and yellow bell peppers. I fried those up and then added some chili powder, turmeric, oregano, cumin and cilantro (dried). I put my tofu mix on top of a tortilla covered with cheese, put more cheese and another tortilla and then baked the whole thing until the cheese was melty. We then cut it up into 8 slices and added salsa, sour cream and guacamole. The kids LOVED it. And as long as my son couldn’t see the green from the zucchini skin, he was good. I also made a plain cheese quesadilla and little D had no problem with that one. Serve this with a black bean salad and you’ve got yourself a delicious, homemade dinner in about 10 minutes.

We recently tried the Yves “Ground Meat” and let me tell you, it has quickly moved to the number 1 slot for vegetarian substitutes. I know some people are opposed to being vegetarian and then eating things that simulate meat… BUT, with a 4 year old and a 2 year old, sometimes you have to keep things familiar, and this product does that. I fact, we had tacos one night with my brother-in-law and I asked him what meat he thought we were eating (it was a Sunday, so he thought it was meat) and he said turkey because it wasn’t greasy. Once he finished eating his tacos, I told him he hadn’t eaten an ounce of meat and he was shocked and I think pleasantly surprised.

If you haven’t eaten tacos in a while, try them, and try making your own taco seasoning too. Because we like tacos so much, we used to buy the seasoning packs a lot but then realized there was a lot of crap inside that wasn’t necessary, so I started making my own – each time it’s different, but cooking is easy like that, it can be delicious but a little different every time.

Homemade Taco Seasoning

1 tsp. chili powder
1/4 tsp. turmeric
1/4 tsp. cumin
1/4 tsp. oregano
1 tsp. dried cilantro
Spice, if you like it.

If I make this for meat, I put the spices in about a cup of water and add the mixture to the fried meat, allowing the water to evaporate from the meat, flavouring it all the while. If I am making this for the Yves “Ground Meat,” I don’t add the water because it does something to the structure of the product and makes it mushy.

Buen apetito!

20120601-143701.jpg

