Chili and corn bread.

by Adriana

20120619-093753.jpg

First off, let me apologize if you read my Tuesday Treats on my Good to the Last Crumb on Facebook. This recipe is so good I want to share it here too so I am doubling up on my posts.

Every Christmas, my husband buys a litre of eggnog thinking that he is going to like it… he never does. I do the same thing with corn bread. I always think I am going to like it. I ate it in Bobby Flay’s restaurant and it left me unimpressed. I come across recipes for it often and always give it a go, but inevitably, I end up unhappy and, again, unimpressed. I just can’t see the big deal. So, when I decided to make a pot of vegetarian chili, I decided I needed to make something on the side and naturally I thought of corn bread. So I did a search and found tonnes of recipes all slightly similar with a few things different in all of them, some added cheese, some added broccoli and one added green onions. Well, in our house adding onion to anything makes it an instantly better dish, so I decided to, once again, give corn bread a whirl. This recipe is so easy (it only makes 6 muffins) and so quick and so delicious that my mind as been changed about corn bread. We added some extra toppings to our chili too to make it extra delicious (sour cream, cheddar cheese and cilantro) and had a dinner perfect for cool spring nights!

Vegetarian Chili

A bit of olive oil
1 sweet onion, chopped
2-3 cloves of garlic, sliced
3-4 carrots, peeled and coarsely chopped
1-2 stalks of celery, chopped
1 red pepper, deseeded and chopped
1-1 1/2 large can(s) of diced tomatoes (no salt added)
1 large can red kidney beans, drained and thoroughly rinsed (no salt or organic)
1 large can pinto beans, drained and thoroughly rinsed (no salt or organic)
1 T chili powder
1 t cumin
1 t coriander
Salt and pepper to taste

Heat the olive oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Fry the onion until it is translucent. Add the garlic, carrot and celery and fry until soft, turning down the heat as necessary to avoid burning. Add the red pepper and fry until starting to soften – we like our vegetables a bit crunchy still. Add the tomatoes (juice and all), beans and spices and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn the heat to a simmer, cover and allow to simmer until the chili is coked through and the flavours have melded. If you need to add water or more juice from tomatoes, do so. We like our chili thick and crunchy, but not too thick or too crunchy, so adjust it as you see fit and to your tastes.

Please click here for the recipe for the corn bread courtesy of Martha Stewart.

If you’re also not a corn bread fan, these may be the muffins that change your mind! Enjoy!!!

