Salad *correction*

by Adriana

It has been a while since my last post. I apologize for this but this is a double-edged apology. The first edge is the sincere apology to my readers for not getting any updated posts, but the other side is the side where I’m not sorry for being away from computers and internet and technology for a while… and more of this seclusion is coming. My family has a cottage and as our children get older it gets easier and easier for me to spend more and more time up there. I will be back and forth most of July but this time next year I plan on being up there for most of the summer. Another great thing is that as our friends’ kids get older too, they get more comfortable coming up (and staying over! yay!!) too, which is great as 24/7 with Mom gets boring for my kids (and once they’re asleep, boring for Mommy too!).

We have been making some delicious things and I will do a big post full of photos sometime soon, but in the meantime, please enjoy a fast, easy and delicious recipe for Salade Nicoise (sans the tuna). I had this while out wedding dress shopping with my recently engaged friend (I have been asked to be a bridesmaid and am SO excited). The salad was so delicious, that I made it the next day for my husband and I for lunch. I am still thinking about it… it’s filling, and healthy, and oh so good!

Nicoise Salad (without Tuna)

This is the recipe for 1 salad.

  • 2-3 boiled mini potatoes, cut into halves or quarters
  • 1/2 avocado, diced
  • 1 boiled egg, sliced
  • 1/2 tomato, cut into wedges
  • 1/4 english cucumber, sliced
  • 1/2 carrot, grated
  • 12-15 green beans, boiled and cooled
  • 2 handfuls of green lettuce salad

Sherry Vinaigrette

I use about 1-2 tbsp of this dressing for each salad.

  • 2/3 cup oil
  • 1/3 cup sherry vinegar
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tsp whole grain dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients together in a suitable, closing container and use sparingly on salad. Keep in the refrigerator and shake well before using each time.

Image

